book reviews · books

Dare by Natalia Jaster

IMG_20190307_072655_146.jpg

Title: Dare
Author: Natalia Jaster
Publication Date: 25th July, 2017
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Rating: 4 Stars

A Hotheaded Prisoner 

In the Kingdom of Summer, they say she’s wild.
Locked in a cage by the sea, Flare dreams of escape. She dreams of a lost world, known only in legends.
The island is calling to her. And she won’t let anyone keep her from it.
Especially not him.

A Coldhearted Prince 

They say he’s cruel.
Jeryn has crossed the ocean for the Trade, to bargain for those fierce, imprisoned creatures that make his skin crawl.
By law, they’re subjects meant for experimentation. And easy to despise.
One girl in particular.

A Mythical Shipwreck 

But on the cusp of transport, the tide rages. That uncharted island awaits.
Stranded, the prince and prisoner must fight to survive. In this mysterious rainforest, they must band together…if they don’t slay one another first.

Or become something more to each other.
Something just as dangerous.

Continue reading “Dare by Natalia Jaster”

Advertisements
book reviews · books

Illumicrate Unboxing – Gods & Monsters

2019-03-04 03.36.28 1.jpg

February theme for Illumicrate is GODS & MONSTERS.
💛
This box is perfect for fans of Strange the Dreamer, Monsters of Verity, Girls of Paper and Fire, fictional gods and other mythical creatures.

If you haven’t received your box yet, don’t read beyond here 😉 You’ve been warned!
💛

Continue reading “Illumicrate Unboxing – Gods & Monsters”

book reviews · books

Trick by Natalia Jaster

IMG_20190302_104028_599.jpg

Title: Trick
Author: Natalia Jaster
Publication Date: 4th November, 2015
Publisher: CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform
Rating: 5 Stars

 

 

There is a rule amongst his kind: A jester doesn’t lie.

In the kingdom of Whimtany, Poet is renowned. He’s young and pretty, a lover of men and women. He performs for the court, kisses like a scoundrel, and mocks with a silver tongue.

Yet allow him this: It’s only the most cunning, most manipulative soul who can play the fool. For Poet guards a secret. One the Crown would shackle him for. One that he’ll risk everything to protect.

Alas, it will take more than clever words to deceive Princess Briar. Convinced that he’s juggling lies as well as verse, this righteous nuisance of a girl is determined to expose him.

But not all falsehoods are fiendish. Poet’s secret is delicate, binding the jester to the princess in an unlikely alliance . . . and kindling a breathless attraction, as alluring as it is forbidden.

Continue reading “Trick by Natalia Jaster”

book reviews · books

Confess by Colleen Hoover

51zuVnkVx-L

Title: Confess
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: 10th March, 2015
Publisher: Atria Books
Rating: 4 Stars

Auburn Reed is determined to rebuild her shattered life and she has no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to become deeply attracted to the studio’s enigmatic artist, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is hiding a huge secret. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it—but can she do it?

Continue reading “Confess by Colleen Hoover”

book reviews · books

Make Me Want by Katee Robert

35268764Title: Make Me Want
Author: Katee Robert
Publication Date: 22nd February, 2018
Publisher: Mills & Boon Dare
Rating: 3 Stars

“I want everything.”

She’s taking control. And it’s driving him wild!

Lucy Baudin’s ex did a number on her self-esteem, but it’s time for her to regain control. In her job as a lawyer she’s bold, confident. But in the bedroom she needs inspiration to reawaken her inner seductress. Asking her friend Gideon Novak for help seems wrong…yet so deliciously right!

Continue reading “Make Me Want by Katee Robert”

book reviews · books

Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

Title: Truth or Dare
Author: Non Pratt
Publication Date: 1st June, 2017
Publisher: Walker Books
Rating: 4 Stars

How far is too far when it comes to the people you love?

Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you’re willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?

Continue reading “Truth or Dare by Non Pratt”

book reviews · books

Caraval by Stephanie Garber

16583561_454900154634176_7458206362997096448_n

Remember, it’s only a game…

Scarlett Dragna has never left the tiny island where she and her sister, Tella, live with their powerful, and cruel, father. Now Scarlett’s father has arranged a marriage for her, and Scarlett thinks her dreams of seeing Caraval—the faraway, once-a-year performance where the audience participates in the show—are over.

But this year, Scarlett’s long-dreamt-of invitation finally arrives. With the help of a mysterious sailor, Tella whisks Scarlett away to the show. Only, as soon as they arrive, Tella is kidnapped by Caraval’s mastermind organizer, Legend. It turns out that this season’s Caraval revolves around Tella, and whoever finds her first is the winner.

Scarlett has been told that everything that happens during Caraval is only an elaborate performance. Nevertheless she becomes enmeshed in a game of love, heartbreak, and magic. And whether Caraval is real or not, Scarlett must find Tella before the five nights of the game are over or a dangerous domino effect of consequences will be set off, and her beloved sister will disappear forever.

Welcome, welcome to Caraval…beware of getting swept too far away.

Continue reading “Caraval by Stephanie Garber”